27 new cities including PM Modi’s Lok Sabha constituency Varanasi make it to Smart City list

By | September 21, 2016

Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Lok Sabha constituency Varanasi made it to the list of 27 Smart Cities that was announced on Tuesday.
Vadodara, Agra, Nagpur, Ajmer, Amritsar, Gwalior, Thane and Thanjavur are some of the other cities that have been named to be developed as smart cities. The 27 cities will require investment of Rs 66,883 crore.
So far, the urban development ministry has selected 60 cities in three rounds and has covered 27 states and Union Territories. Only nine more states and UTs are still to get on board including Uttarakhand and Jammu and Kashmir.

Source: Indianexpress